Patna: A day after Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) asked the Janata Dal – U to field its own candidate from the Jehanabad seat for the upcoming special election in the district, the JD-U announced the name of Abhiram Sharma who will go toe-to-toe against Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) candidate Suday Yadav, the son of late RJD leader Mundrika Singh Yadav.

It may be recalled that the JD-U had earlier stated that it had no intention of fielding its own candidate from any of the three seats in Bihar where by-polls are to be held but when the BJP failed to come up with a name that was capable of winning from the Jehanabad seat, it asked the JD-U to come up with a candidate of its own.

Talking to reporters in Patna on Sunday, JD-U state President Vashisht Narayan Singh said that Abhiram Sharma's name was finalized after consulting with Nitish Kumar and other senior leaders of the party.

Meanwhile, the BJP is poised to announce the name of its own two candidates for the Bhabhua and Araria seat.

Sources said the party is close to announcing the names of Rinki Rani Pandey for the Bhabhua Assembly seat and Pradeep Singh for the Lok Sabha seat in Araria.

RJD had earlier declared Sarfaraz Alam, son of late RJD leader Mohammed Taslimuddin, candidate from Araria while leaving the Bhabhua seat for Congress, its ally.

Former Bihar Chief Minister and Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) leader Jitan Ram Manjhi, after initial tantrum, gave up his claim on the Jehanabad seat letting the NDA to decide on its candidate.

Recent Comments