Patna: With Bihar elections just around the corner, Janata Dal – U and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Bihar reached an agreement on seat sharing with the two parties to split the 243 seats 50-50.

While the Nitish-led JD-U will get 122 seats, the BJP agreed to keep 121 seats for its candidates.

The fate of Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and Jitan Ram Manjhi’s Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM), however, hang in uncertainty.

“Though no agreement has been reached with the LJP and HAM, it is believed that the BJP is willing to give 15 seats to the LJP from its own quota whereas Nitish is willing to accommodate the HAM from his part of the share.

Earlier LJP president Chirag Paswan threatened to walk out of the NDA if his party did not get at least 42 seats in Bihar.

“We will field our own candidates on 143 seats if the NDA does not agree to our demand of 42 seats,” Paswan had said.

Recent Comments