Patna: A day after Janata Dal – U state president Vashisht Narayan Singh hosted the Dahi-Chura feast at his residence on the occasion of Makar Sankranti, Congress Party followed the suit on Tuesday that saw the presence of senior party leaders along with those from Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP), and Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM).

Since the RJD household choosing to refrain from celebrating the festival on account of party chief Lalu Prasad Yadav languishing in jail and the eldest son of the family Tej Pratap Yadav going his own way while waiting for a court to finalize his divorce from his wife of six months, it was Tejaswi Yadav, the chosen heir of his father, to represent the party at Sadaqat Ashram, the Congress headquarters in Patna.

RLSP chief Upendra Kushwaha, who recently left the NDA due to dispute over seat-sharing, was also one of the prominent guests who was seen coddling with Congress leader Madan Mohan Jha and Tejaswi Yadav as they all fed Dahi, Chura, and Tilkut to each other with their hands in a sign of personal closeness as opposed to a political compulsion.

Kushwaha, talking to the reporters, said that Rahul Gandhi, the Congress national president, was ready to assume the Prime Minister’s post and was quite ahead in the race for the PM’s chair.

“No one is even close to Rahul Gandhi in the race. He is a dynamic leader who would make a great Prime Minister,” he said.

HAM chief and former Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi could not come to the party but was represented by former Bihar minister Brishan Patel. Nishad community leader Manoj Sahni was also seen feeding sweets to all Mahagathbandhan leaders.

Tejaswi Yadav, talking about his meeting with Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Akhilesh Yadav and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati in Uttar Pradesh on Sunday, said that despite no pre-poll alliance in the UP, the goal was the same – to defeat the BJP in the coming election.

“We share the same goals as SP and BSP leaders in Uttar Pradesh and that is to defeat the BJP from coming into power. As far as seat-sharing in Bihar is concerned, it will be resolved soon.

Former Union Minister Shakeel Ahmed Khan, Vijay Shankar Dubey, Prem Chand Mishra, Shyam Sundar Singh Dheeraj, and Danish Rizwan were among many who were present on the occasion.