Patna: So, the inevitable has happened! Film star-turned politician-turned-his-own-party's-biggest-critic Shatrughan Sinha is out from the Bharatiya Janata Party’s list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections and has been replaced by Ravindra Kishore Sinha to represent the party from elite Patna Saheb constituency in Bihar.

More popularly known as R K Sinha, the 68-year old security baron’s name was reportedly finalized on Thursday at a meeting of the top BJP leaders from Bihar at party president Amit Shah’s residence.

The name of Sinha was picked over senior BJP leader and Rajya Sabha MP Ravi Shankar Prasad who, according to Shah, was required in Delhi as he was “doing a great job as a party spokesperson at the nation’s capital”.

Born on Sept. 22, 1951, Sinha graduated with degrees in political science and law and also worked as a journalist in the ‘70s and ‘80s. He founded Security and Intelligence Services, a private security provider in India and Australia.

BJP sent him to the Rajya Sabha in 2014.

Yesterday, Shatrughan Sinha, who was elected MP twice from Patna Saheb seat, dropped the biggest and clearest hint to date indicating his stint at the BJP had indeed come to an end and he would announce his future course of action within a few days.

Rumor mills suggest he is set to contest from the same Patna Saheb seat on a Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) ticket though Sinha or any RJD leader has yet to confirm it.

Meanwhile, BJP has informally announced the names of the candidates keeping the incumbents at their seats with some exception involving Giriraj Singh, Shahnawaz Hussain, and a couple others.

With both the BJP and JD-U contesting at 17 seats each, Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) will field its candidates on six seats.

Giriraj Singh is likely to leave Nawada seat in favor of a LJP candidate and instead, will be fielded from Begusarai. Shahnawaz Hussain, reports say, will likely contest from Araria, sources said.

Another recent reporting in the media that the BJP will give up its Pataliputra seat to Nitish Kumar’s JD-U appears to be untrue as the BJP has decided to field its candidates from Bettiah, Motihari, Muzaffarpur, Patna Saheb, Pataliputra, Ujiarpur, Darbhanga, Madhubani, Begusarai, Araria, Maharajganj, Chhapra, Banka, Ara, Sasaram, Sheohar and Buxar.

JD-U will field its candidates from Bhagalpur, Kishanganj, Purnia, Jhanjharpur, Valmiki Nagar, Supaul, Purnia, Katihar, Siwan, Munger, Madhepura, Nalanda, Gaya, Gopalganj, Aurangabad, Sitamarhi, and Jehanabad.

Paswan, who got six seats in the Bihar NDA, will put his candidates in Samastipur, Hajipur, Vaishali, Khagaria, Jamui, and Nawada.

RJD-led Grand Alliance in Bihar is yet to finalize its seat-sharing arrangement in the state.

Recent Comments